In this post, you will find out about the nature of the seven chakras of the human body, as well as what happens when each chakra gets blocked, as well as their correspondences to various material and non-material aspects of this existence.

The concept of chakras originates from ancient Indian spiritual traditions, particularly within Hinduism, and later adopted in Buddhism. The chakras are energy centers within the human body that affect various aspects of our physical and emotional well-being.

The Seven chakras briefly explained

The seven chakras are interconnected, forming a system that influences us on the material level of existence. Practices such as yoga, meditation, and energy work are often used to balance and align these chakras, aiming to achieve harmony within oneself and a deeper connection to the Universe.

The Root Chakra (Muladhara)

The Root Chakra - seven chakras explained

The first chakra is located at the base of the spine and is associated with the color red.

It represents stability, security, and our connection to the physical world. It is related to our basic survival instincts, groundedness, and sense of belonging.

Blocked root chakra signs:

  • Physical signs: Fatigue, lower back pain, immune system issues, constipation
  • Emotional signs: Anxiety, fear, insecurity, lack of focus
  • Imbalance may result in feeling disconnected from the physical world and experiencing a lack of stability.

Root Chakra Balancing Gemstones

To understand the root chakra, consider reading:

The Sacral Chakra (Svadhishthana)

Sacral Chakra

The second chakra is located in the lower abdomen and is associated with the color orange.

It relates to creativity, sensuality, and emotions. It governs our relationships, desires, and the ability to experience pleasure.

Blocked sacral chakra signs:

  • Physical signs: Reproductive or menstrual issues, lower back pain, urinary problems
  • Emotional signs: Emotional numbness, difficulty experiencing pleasure, creative blockages
  • Imbalance can lead to challenges in expressing emotions, maintaining healthy relationships, and experiencing joy.

Sacral Chakra Balancing Gemstones

The Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)

The Solar Plexus Chakra

The third chakra is located above the navel and is associated with the color yellow.

It is linked to personal power, confidence, and self-esteem. It represents our ability to exert control over our lives and make conscious decisions.

Blocked solar plexus chakra signs:

  • Physical signs: Digestive issues, ulcers, weight gain or loss, adrenal fatigue
  • Emotional signs: Low self-esteem, lack of confidence, controlling behavior
  • Imbalance might result in difficulties in decision-making, taking risks, and asserting oneself.

Solar Plexus Chakra Balancing Gemstones

The Heart Chakra (Anahata)

The Heart Chakra

The fourth chakra is located at the center of the chest and is associated with the color green.

It represents love, compassion, and emotional balance. This chakra is connected to our capacity for empathy, forgiveness, and forming meaningful connections.

Blocked heart chakra signs:

  • Physical signs: Respiratory issues, heart problems, high blood pressure
  • Emotional signs: Fear of intimacy, lack of compassion, difficulty forgiving
  • Imbalance can lead to challenges in forming and maintaining deep, meaningful relationships and feeling disconnected from love.

Heart Chakra Balancing Gemstones

To understand the Heart chakra, consider reading:

The Throat Charka (Vishuddha)

The Throat Chakra

The fifth chakra is located in the throat area and is associated with the color blue.

It governs communication, self-expression, and truth. This chakra is related to both verbal and nonverbal expression of thoughts and emotions.

Blocked throat chakra signs:

  • Physical signs: Throat infections, thyroid issues, dental problems
  • Emotional signs: Difficulty expressing oneself, feeling unheard or misunderstood
  • Imbalance might lead to challenges in effective communication and self-expression.

Throat Chakra Balancing Gemstones

The Third Eye Chakra (Ajna)

The Third Eye Chakra

The sixth chakra is located between the eyebrows and is associated with the color indigo.

It represents intuition, insight, and spiritual awareness. Often referred to as the “third eye,” this chakra is linked to perception beyond the physical realm.

Blocked third eye chakra signs:

  • Physical signs: Headaches, vision problems, sinus issues
  • Emotional signs: Lack of clarity, confusion, inability to trust intuition
  • Imbalance can result in difficulties in making decisions and accessing higher states of consciousness.

Third Eye Chakra Balancing Gemstones

The Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)

The Crown Chakra

The seventh chakra is located at the top of the head and is associated with the color violet or white.

It symbolizes the highest level of consciousness, spiritual connection, and enlightenment. It represents unity with the universe and a sense of transcendence.

Blocked crown chakra signs:

  • Physical signs: Sensitivity to light and sound, neurological issues
  • Emotional signs: Disconnection from spirituality, lack of purpose, materialistic mindset, depression
  • Imbalance might lead to a sense of separation from higher states of consciousness and a lack of spiritual connection.

Crown Chakra Balancing Gemstones

Seven Chakras Correspondence With The Seven Sheaths

Seven chakras correspondence with seven sheaths
  1. Physical body – Root Chakra
  2. Etheric body – Sacral Chakra
  3. Astral body – Solar Plexus Chakra
  4. Ego or “I” – Heart Chakra
  5. Spirit Self – Throat Chakra
  6. Life Spirit – Third Eye Chakra
  7. Spirit Man – Crown Chakra

Seven Chakras Correspondence With Gemstones

Seven chakras correspondence with gemstones

Each chakra has a corresponding gemstone. In fact, any gemstone of a chakra color is that chakra gemstone.

Hi, I'm Simona Rich, the author of this site.

I'm from Lithuania, though most of the time you'll find me somewhere in Asia.

I write about spirituality and self-improvement, and consult on those topics and astrology.

Let's connect on Facebook, Instagram and YouTube. My bio is here...