Among the seven chakras of the human body, the heart chakra is the center of love, compassion, and balance. This post will explain the heart chakra meaning by providing knowledge about various aspects of this energy center.

The heart chakra, also known as Anahata in Sanskrit, plays a vital role in our emotional well-being, relationships, and overall harmony. You can find this chakra in the middle of the body’s energy system.

This post will help you to better understand the significance of the heart chakra, its characteristics, and its impact in your life.

The Heart Chakra Meaning: Understanding the Fourth Chakra

The Heart Chakra Meaning

The heart chakra is the fourth chakra in the traditional Hindu system. Its color is green and pink.

Its location is in the center of the chest, right above the heart, aligning with the cardiac plexus.

This chakra acts as a bridge between the lower three physical chakras and the upper three spiritual chakras, symbolizing a connection between the material and spiritual aspects of our existence.

Heart Chakra Meaning: Characteristics of the Fourth chakra

The heart chakra is primarily linked to emotions such as love, compassion, forgiveness, and empathy. It serves as a center for healing emotional wounds and finding balance in our lives.

When the heart chakra is in balance, individuals tend to exhibit qualities such as kindness, understanding, and a deep sense of interconnectedness with all living beings.

On the other hand, an imbalanced heart chakra can manifest in various ways. Excessive energy in this chakra might lead to being overly giving, sacrificing one’s own needs for others, or experiencing intense emotional attachment.

A deficiency in heart chakra energy could result in feelings of isolation, bitterness, or an inability to connect with others on an emotional level.

Further down in this Heart Chakra Meaning article, you’ll also be able to read about the effects of a poorly functioning heart chakra on the physical body.

How Heart Chakra Influences You

From our relationships to our emotional healing, the heart chakra’s energy flows through our being, guiding us toward deeper self-awareness and interconnectedness.

In this section, you’ll find out how the heart chakra influences important aspects of your life, creating harmony and resonating with the essence of love.

  1. Love and Relationships: The heart chakra directly impacts your relationships. When this chakra is open and balanced, you can express and receive love freely, which creates healthy connections. It encourages healthy love and self-acceptance, which are essential for maintaining meaningful relationships.
  2. Healing and Forgiveness: The heart chakra’s energy is about healing, both physical and emotional. Opening this chakra can aid in releasing past hurts, grudges, and resentments. Through forgiveness and compassion, you can experience profound emotional healing and find a sense of liberation.
  3. Empathy and Compassion: This chakra encourages you to see beyond your own experiences and perspectives. It helps you empathize with others, to feel their emotions as if they were your own, and to respond with compassion.

Physical Symptoms of Heart Chakra Imbalance

When this chakra is imbalanced, it impacts not only your emotional state but also your health. Imbalances in the heart chakra manifest in a variety of physical symptoms, the most common of which I’ve listed below.

  1. Heart Problems: Imbalances in the heart chakra contribute to heart-related issues, such as heart palpitations, chest pain, and high blood pressure.
  2. Respiratory Issues: Problems with the lungs and respiratory system, including asthma and shallow breathing, might be connected to an imbalanced heart chakra.
  3. Immune System Weakness: A compromised heart chakra could impact the immune system, leading to susceptibility to illnesses and a slower healing process.
  4. Circulation Issues: Imbalances in the heart chakra might manifest as poor circulation, cold hands and feet, or related issues.

Heart Chakra Balancing Essential Oils

Here is a selection of powerful oils which help to balance the heart chakra.

Other Ways to Balance the Heart Chakra

Various practices can help balance the heart chakra and keep its energy flowing harmoniously:

  1. Meditation: Meditating on the heart chakra while focusing on feelings of love, compassion, and forgiveness can help open and balance it.
  2. Yoga: Heart-opening yoga poses, such as the cobra pose and the camel pose, can stimulate and activate the heart chakra.
  3. Affirmations: Repeating positive affirmations related to love, self-acceptance, and forgiveness can have a beneficial impact on the heart chakra.
  4. Crystals: Crystals like rose quartz and green aventurine are believed to resonate with the heart chakra’s energy and can be used in meditation or worn as jewelry.

Heart Chakra Balancing Gemstones

Apart from the two stones mentioned in the above section, here are some other great gemstone choices to balance the heart chakra.

Heart Chakra Symbol Meaning

The Heart Chakra Symbol

The symbol of the sacral chakra consists of a lotus flower, a circle, a Star of David, and a center point.

Let’s break down the components of the heart chakra symbol to better understand the heart chakra meaning.

  • Green Color: The heart chakra’s traditional color is green, which symbolizes growth, renewal, and harmony. Green is also the color of nature and the healing energies of the natural world.
  • Lotus Flower: In the heart chakra symbol, the lotus represents the unfolding of the heart’s potential and virtues. The lotus grows from the muddy depths of water to bloom into a beautiful, pristine flower. This symbolizes the journey from pain and suffering to love and enlightenment.
  • Twelve Petals: These petals represent the qualities or virtues of the heart chakra. These include love, compassion, empathy, forgiveness, joy, and inner peace.
  • Circle: The circle that contains the lotus and its petals represents unity, completeness, and the cyclical nature of life. It signifies the interconnectedness of all beings and the infinite nature of love and compassion.
  • Hexagram or Star of David: This symbol signifies the union of opposites. The upward-pointing triangle represents the element of fire, energy, and transformation. The downward-pointing triangle representing the element of water, emotion, and intuition. This combination symbolizes the harmonious integration of masculine and feminine energies, creating a balanced and open heart.
  • Center Point: The central point of the heart chakra symbol represents the heart’s core. There, the energies of love, compassion, and balance converge. It’s the heart center from which these energies radiate, affecting all aspects of your life.


The heart chakra stands as a center of love, compassion, and balance within your energy system.

Its influence reaches beyond the non-physical realm and affects your emotional well-being, relationships, and the connection to the physical world.

By understanding and taking care of this chakra, you can have a deeper level of self-love, empathy, and a greater connection to others and the world.

Recommended Reading


  1. Judith, Anodea. “Eastern Body, Western Mind: Psychology and the Chakra System as a Path to the Self”.
  2. Dale, Cindy. The Subtle Body: An Encyclopedia of Your Energetic Anatomy.
  3. Judith, Anodea. “The Wheels of Life: A User’s Guide to the Chakra System”.

Hi, I'm Simona Rich, the author of this site.

I'm from Lithuania, though most of the time you'll find me somewhere in Asia.

I write about spirituality and self-improvement, and consult on those topics.

Let's connect on Facebook, Instagram and YouTube. My bio is here...